# Technical excellence. Whole-brain thinking. Highly interdisciplinary work.

Now in our fifth year of an ambitious growth initiative, we are in the process of hiring 20 tenure-track faculty members, more than doubling our faculty. We are driven to push the boundaries of the field with exceptional work in programming languages, machine learning, robotics, network security, computer science theory, artificial intelligence, computational imaging, human-computer interaction, high-performance computing, networking, algorithms, mechanism design, and personalized education.

### **New Faculty**



V.S. Subrahmanian
joined as Walter P. Murphy
Professor with a joint
position in the Buffett
Institute for Global Affairs.

Most recently, he was a distinguished professor at Dartmouth College and is a leader in cybersecurity and AI.

### Core Tenure-track CS Faculty



Emma Alexander (UC Berkeley) bio-inspired, physics-based approach to artificial vision



Xinyu Xing (Penn State) software, systems, and Al security

### **Faculty of Instruction**

**Mohammed Alam** (*PhD Northwestern*)
Al and machine learning

**Connor Bain** (*PhD Northwestern*) computing frameworks in K-12 STEM education

**Sruti Bhagavatula** (*PhD Carnegie Mellon*) security, privacy

#### Zach Wood-Doughty

(PhD Johns Hopkins) natural language processing methods

**Huiling Hu** (*PhD University of Maryland*) data science, machine learning related to climate change

### By the Numbers

Faculty: 42 tenure track, 10 teaching track

Undergraduate Students: ~800 majors
Graduate Students: 130 PhD and 180 MS

Enrollment: 8.100

## **Programs**

We welcomed the first class in our new MBAi program, a joint degree at the intersection of business and technology offered by the Kellogg School of Management and the McCormick School of Engineering.

In collaboration with the Department of Industrial Engineering and Management Sciences, we launched a <u>data science</u> <u>and engineering minor</u> to teach practical knowledge fundamental to the data science lifecycle.

A new certificate from the Human-Computer Interaction + Design Center will help students build knowledge and skills in the design, evaluation, and implementation of interactive computing systems for human use.

### **Diversity Initiatives**

We organized a new **summer camp for high schoolers** from backgrounds underrepresented in CS.

As part of the BRAID (Building, Recruiting, And Inclusion for Diversity) Initiative we seek to increase participation from underrepresented groups in undergraduate CS programs by working to positively transform our classroom environments.

Our **DEI committee members supported over 80 Northwestern CS students** in the Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing, and the Richard Tapia Celebration of Diversity in Computing.

### **CS Chairs Conference**

This summer, we held a <u>conference</u> with faculty from across the country to examine education, faculty, and programming issues faced by CS departments.

# **CS+X Connections**



Our <u>Digital Marketing and Computer</u>
<u>Science Workshop</u> brought together leaders from Adobe Research, Kellogg Marketing, and Computer Science to discuss the complex, interdisciplinary problems of today's (and tomorrow's) digital marketing landscape.

The "Al and Its Impact" series highlighted research underway with the aim of inspiring further Al research across the University.

#### **Awards**

Noshir Contractor received the 2022 SIMMEL Award and the International Communication Association Fellows Book Award.

Jason Hartline received the ACM SIGecom Test of Time Award, the association's annual recognition of influential papers at the intersection of economics and computation.

Josiah Hester was named to the <u>Brilliant</u>
10 by Popular Science. He also received the
2021 <u>Most Promising Engineer or Scientist</u>
<u>Award</u> from the American Indian Science
and Engineering Society.

PhD student **Byungjin Jun** (advised by **Fabian Bustamante**) received a <u>Google PhD</u> fellowship.

Samir Khuller was named EATCS Fellow by the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science.

<u>Eleanor O'Rourke</u> and <u>Marcelo Worsley</u> received prestigious NSF CAREER awards.